Kale, Butternut Squash and Dates Salad

I don’t have a picture again:(

Excuses include: 2 kids, slow computer, and hunger.

But…I don’t want to forget this recipe. It was so good.

Ingredients
Kale, chopped
Dates, chopped
Butternut squash, steamed and chopped
Onions, sliced and caramelized
Walnuts, roasted and chopped

Saute kale in 1 t. olive oil. Add dates and squash and onions. Season with salt and pepper and top with walnuts.

Optional: Drizzle with vinegar (white wine or balsamic) and a little extra olive oil.

One comment

  1. “Variation On A Theme” I told Sarah I would make dinner, perhaps a soup. She had made dinner the night before. I decided to make your recipe into a soup. I carmelized an onion then added about 7 dates. I didn’t feel like cutting and cooking a squash so I used two packages of Birdseye frozen cooked squash. To this I added 21/2 cups of homemade chicken broth and 1/2 cup of 1/2 & 1/2. For garnish I baked the kale (kale-chips) but I burned the only walnuts I had so I toasted some pumpkin seeds. Delicious!

    Thanks for the inspiration! Becca’s third dad

    Sent from The Crow

    >

Leave a Reply

