Rice Bowl with Cucumber Salsa


A Bethany creation:) Served with a chips and salsa appetizer.

A few things: I’ve been too busy with finishing my graduate school assignments with a non-sleeping sick baby to be able to post, but I’m back:) Secondly, it is my new challenge of mine to not waste food…to use what is in my refrigerate to create GREAT meals. I’m trying to save money in the food buying department and just not be so wasteful. This was the first meal from my challenge. I realized that I had enough in the fridge to create a delicious vegetarian dinner. Jeff LOVED it and so did I.  I will definitely make this again. It was healthy, filling, VERY easy to make, and the flavors were great together! It was refreshing to have a mexican style dish and it not be tacos:)

Ingredients
rice:
2 c. jasmine rice (enough for 4 entrée servings)
4 c. chicken stock (instead of water)
1 t. butter
1/2 onion, chopped small
1/2 lime, squeezed
handful of cilantro
1/2 T. Franks hot sauce

black beans (heated)

cucumber salsa:
1 cucumber, peeled and chopped into small cubes
1 radish, chopped into small cubes
1 scallion, sliced
pinch of kosher salt
1 t. olive oil
1 T. apple cider vinegar

Top with feta cheese or cheddar cheese

Directions
Make the rice first by placing all the ingredients into a medium saucepan. Bring to a boil, then cover and reduce heat. Cook until rice is tender. Rice is served at the bottom of the bowl. Top it with a little more fresh cilantro. Then add a layer of black beans. Top with the cucumber salsa, which is made by simply combining and stir all the ingredients together. Lastly, top the bowl with cheese. Serve warm and enjoy:)

Leave a Reply

