Coconut Cake with Marshmallow-Like Frosting


Susan Branch’s “Coconut Layer Cake with Lemon Filling and Wonderful Marshmallow-Like Frosting”

Today, Mae said (for the first time), “Cooking!” She ran over to the kitchen and said it over and over. Not only is she the cutest thing ever, she loves to cook! and make a mess:) I had to think of something fast, as she demands to cook started to get louder:) Hum…what do I have heard for dessert? And of course, we’re making dessert! I found this lovely cookbook, The Summer Book, by Susan Branch and this is what Mae and I found. Now that my daughter will be cooking with me full-time, I would like to preface that my pictures may not look amazing since I try to let Mae do almost everything, as much as she can. For the cake, she was definitely in charge of sprinkling the coconut on top. She pretty much dumped it all in the center, so I spread it out a little. And the cake didn’t get frosted on all the edges because she was about to stick her whole hand in the cake. The cake is still beautiful though, toasted coconut has that effect, and so does a little girl helping bake:)

Now onto the cake: it is a bit multi-stepped for a cake, but I think it was worth it. Also, the original recipe comes with a lemon filling, which I will include, but i didn’t have lemons, so I did use a filling. Instead, I just put a little bit of frosting in between the cakes.

Ode’ to cakes, instead of cookies and brownies all the time:)

Ingredients
Cake:
6 T. butter, room temp.
1 1/2 c. sugar
3 eggs, separated
2 1/4 c. flour
3 t. baking powder
1/4 t. salt
3/4 c. milk
1 t. vanilla

Filling:
1 c. sugar
2 eggs, separate
2 T. butter, melted

Frosting:
1/3 c. water
1 c. sugar
1/8 t. cream of tartar
pinch of salt
2 egg whites
1 t. vanilla

Directions
Filling:
Put all ingredients in double boiler, stir over simmering water till thickened-15-20 minutes. Chill.

Cake: Cream butter and sugar. Add egg yolks and beat. In separate bowl, combine dry ingredients. Pour dry ingredients in n butter mixture, alternating with milk. In another separate bowl, whip egg whites until stiff. Fold them into the cake batter. Pour batter into 3 buttered cake pans, I used 2:) Bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes.

Frosting: In a small saucepan, stir together the water, sugar, salt and cream of tartar. Boil for 5 minutes or until it becomes 240 degrees via a candy thermometer. In a separate medium bowl, whip egg whites to stiff peaks. Pour sugar mixture into egg white mixture and beat until thick and glossy (marshmallow-like). Stir in vanilla.

Assemble cake by layering cake, filling, cake, filling, cake, frosting, and top with toasted coconut.

 

 

2 comments

  1. I don’t see the amount of lemon in the filling. Can you please let me know? Maybe I am supposed to look someplace else. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

