Crab Dip

My mom gave me some real crab meat leftover from her Memorial Day quiche last Sunday and I used it to make a crab dip for friends on Memorial Day. I hunted for a good crab dip recipe all day and finally decided to make my own based on a few ingredients I had seen in multiple recipes. I couldn’t bring myself to use a recipe because almost all of them had a conglomerate of massive amounts of mayo, sour cream and cream cheese. I felt like I would have had a hard time eating it know that all that was in it. So…I scaled back on the fattening dairy and the results were terrific. Everyone LOVED the dip. We ate it all before I could take a picture:( The crab really stood out in this dip. It tasted like crab dip, not cheese dip with a little bit of crab. It was still cheesy, flavorful, and crabby with a little kick. I will definitely make this again for company.

Ingredients
1 16 oz. can real crab meat
8 oz. light cream cheese
2 green onions, chopped
1 t. Worcestershire sauce
2 T. Siracha hot sauce
1/2 t. dry mustard
1/2 cup Monterey jack cheese, shredded
1/2 cup cheddar cheese, shredded
2 cloves garlic, minced
salt and pepper
1/2 lemon, juiced

Served with multigrainĀ tortilla chip scoops (also a hit with the company…if you haven’t tried these, it’s a must. They are better than regular white corn tortilla chips…SERIOUSLY!)

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine all the ingredients together in a large bowl and stir well. Place dip in a glass pie pan and bake for 30-40 minutes. Serve warm with tortilla chips.

Leave a Reply

