Sour Cream Pancakes


Adapted from Smitten Kitchen’s recipe for Edna Mae’s Sour Cream Pancakes: http://smittenkitchen.com/2010/01/edna-maes-sour-cream-pancakes/
Pancakes for breakfast #2 at the cabin. I made Jeff’s plain and added chocolate chips to mine. We both liked our own better:) Truth be told, I am far from a master of pancakes. I never make them…I prefer baked goods, Quiche and waffles. This all mean that I can not make a perfect circle or get the right toasty color. My mom, like many, made shapes, initials, animals, and mickey mouse out of pancakes. I don’t get it. I can’t make a circle or a heart. Pancake art is hard! I remember that my mom made me a “B” for Bethany. How did she do that with all the holes in the letter? Sorry for the long side story. Onto the taste:

These pancakes are plump, soft, and don’t taste like sour cream. They are classic, slightly sweet, and homemade. No bisquick here. For this recipe, I used light sour cream, but you could also use low-fat or fat-free plain yogurt.

Ingredients
8 T whole wheat flour
1 1/2 T. sugar
1 t. baking soda
1/ 4 t. kosher salt
1 c. light sour cream
2 large eggs
1/2 t. vanilla
optional: add chocolate chips

Serve with butter and syrup

Directions
In a medium bowl, combine all the dry ingredients. In a small bowl, beat eggs with a fork. Add sour cream and vanilla. Stir. Add wet ingredients to dry. Stir just until combine. Using a 1/4 c. dollop batter into a hot pan, lightly covered in canola oil. Cook on medium heat. Flip pancakes when they begin to bubble and brown on the edges. Cook for another 1-2 minutes. Remove from pan and top with desired amount of butter and syrup.

Leave a Reply

