Classic Tacos with Homemade Taco Seasoning


Recipe taken from Alton Brown’s all American Beef Taco Recipe: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/all-american-beef-taco-recipe/index.html
I had some leftover ground turkey and ground beef. Since I never make tacos with ground meat, I thought I would get back to my roots and make some classic tacos minus store-bought taco seasoning. I made my own via Alton Brown’s recipe:) It tasted like taco seasoning, but less salty. I served the tacos with lettuce, cheddar cheese, sour cream and fresh salsa from our local farmers market. They were the best tacos! Jeff couldn’t stop eating them.

Ingredients
1/3 lb. ground turkey
1/4 lb. ground beef
2 1/2 T. taco seasoning (see link above)
1/2 yellow onion, chopped
1 jalapeno, chopped

Directions
In a medium saucepan, heat 1 T olive oil. Add meat, onions and jalapeno. Cook until all the meat is browned. Add taco seasoning and stir till combine. If the mixture is dry and sticking to the pan, add 2 T. water.

Serve in a hard corn tortilla shell with desired toppings:)

Leave a Reply

