Chocolate Cake Truffles (Cake Pops without the stick)


After eating the cake truffle in the Reading Terminal Market, I decided that I need to come home and finally try to make these newly popular cake pops. I made them truffles, mainly, because I didn’t have sticks:) I looked online and almost all the recipes are the same: cake mix, jarred frosting and this chocolate coating stuff (that Giant did not carry). Since this is my first attempt, I went basic: Devil Food Cake mix, Chocolate Fudge Frosting, melted chocolate chips and walnuts. I figured that if these turned out decent then next time I would try fun flavors and/or homemade cakes and frostings. I must say, preparing a box cake felt quite wrong. I haven’t made a box cake in ages! Needless to say, the results were as follows:

1. Cake Truffles have the best texture ever and I will absolutely make these whenever I have leftover cake:)
2. Why did I use a box mix from the grocery store? I knew it would be bad, deep down. I know this is so so food snobby of me, but next time I will either buy a Trader Joes cake mix (way better) or ghirardelli (do they make cake mixes…their brownie mixes are way superior!) or I will make my own.
3. These were messy and slightly time-consuming, but I think they were good, minus the hurting box mix:) I would definitely make them again:)

Note: I made the whole cake, but only used half for this recipe. The other half, I put in the freezer to make them again when I have company:)

Ingredients
1/2 Devils Food Cake (from a box)
Chocolate Fudge frosting
semi-sweet chocolate chips
walnuts, chopped

Directions
Make box cake according to directions. Allow to cool completely. Pull cake out of pan and crumble into a large bowl. Add 1 tbsp. of frosting at a time, until you get a good consistency. The dough should be able to roll into a large ball, but not be too sticky and wet. Using your hands, form dough into balls. Meanwhile, melt chocolate in a small bowl and place chopped walnuts on a small plate.  Dip ball into chocolate then immediately roll in walnuts. Place truffles on wax paper or parchment paper to dry. Place truffles in the refrigerator. They keep for about 3 days.

Leave a Reply

