Philadelphia Food Tour

This past weekend, I went up to Glassboro, New Jersey for my friends bachelorette party. I was so delighted that we were driving into Phillie for a food tour. I had never done a food tour before and I had never really eaten anything other than a cheese steak in Philadelphia. I was pleasantly surprise by the whole experience. I LOVED IT! I got to try amazing foods in Phillie that I wouldn’t have even known to try. Next time I go, I am heading straight for a few of our stops. Below are the highlights of our tour and a few of my Philadelphia recommendations:)

We started our tour at the Reading Terminal Market, which is the coolest market. It is an indoor mall of food, but no chains spotted. You could EASILY get lost in there. I was completely overwhelmed, I couldn’t look everywhere fast enough. Needless to say, I was really happy that they picked three places in the market for us.


Doesn’t look like much from the outside, but it’s glorious inside!

The three places we went was the Fair Food Farm Market, Kamal’s Middle Eastern Specialties, and Flying Monkey.

We tasted a french pastry thing at the Fair Food Market. I can’t remember what it was called, but it was heavenly. Their booth mainly served local fruits, vegetables, and prepared foods like chicken potpies. I guess I wouldn’t go there again, but it was good:)

At Kamal’s Middle Eastern Specialties, we got a little mini salad, hummus, falafal, stuffed grape leaves and something else that looked like hummus but tasted even better. It was very authentic and flavorful. The spices in each thing were slightly different from what I get here in the DC Metro area. Very good, but still something that I’ve had before, more or less.

My favorite thing in the market, was the Flying Monkey. It was a dessert, cake, goodness booth. The gave us a cupcake truffle the flavor of orange dreamsicle. Anyone that knows me, know that I don’t do much fruit in my desserts, but this was different. The flavor was subtle and spot on…not bitter or tart. The texture of the truffle was indescribable….in my attempts, it was moist, dense cake…someone likened it to the popular cake pops. I would DEFINITELY go there again:)


Our next stop was to Capogiro. It’s a gelato place that has apparently gotten quite high reviews according to our tour guide. It was the best gelato I’ve ever had. And…I don’t think I could go to Phillie and not get it.


Here was our tasting: Strawberry, Chocolate with Candied Hazelnuts (my favorite), Avocado (my second favorite…not what you would expect), Coffee Chocolate Chip, and Dark Chocolate (I think). The gelato is divine…it’s creamy but not too rich. The flavor it subtle but just right! I LOVED IT!


Our last stop was Di Bruno Bros. It is this cheese shop, grocery, deli place. Trully, I wanted to try the meatball sub, but cheese it was! It was the most impressive cheeseshop I’ve been to in the states. Lovely staff, highly educated, and an amazing selection of amazing cheeses.


After all this, I had to bring something home. I decided on this extremely soft cheese made out of buffalo milk. It was incredible. It tasted like butter.

All in all, I imagine not all food tours are this great, but I was impressed with this food tour and Philadelphia’s food options. Go Phillie:)

Leave a Reply

