BLT Salad


This must be the new salad because I feel like I’ve spotted some version of a BLT Salad in magazines at the grocery store and such. Anyway, I gave it a try and it was really good. It tasted like a BLT without the bread. And, being a bread-lover, I’m surprised to say that having it as a salad was better than having it as a sandwich. For one reason, the toasted bread doesn’t scratch the roof of your mouth and because it’s refreshing and hearty as a salad. I would definitely make this again. It’s great as an entrée salad. I served mine with box cornbread:)

Ingredients
Butter lettuce, washed and broken into bite-size chunks
4 slices bacon, pan-fried to desired doneness (I like mine in the middle…not too crispy)
1 ripe tomato, chopped
3 T. gorgonzola cheese
red onion, sliced (optional)
fresh basil, chopped

Directions

.

Leave a Reply

