Grilled Salad with Shallot Dressing


I made this amazing grilled salad for my whole family three christmas’ ago. Sadly, I have no clue where I go the recipe from and can not seem to find it anywhere. This week, I attempted to recreate it. Okay…this tastes a lot better than it looks. The lettuce wilt from the heated grill, making the salad look a little limp and lifeless, but its tastes amazing. This salad was delicious, but not as good as the christmas one. I will have to continue my search. I think the dressing just needs a little tweaking…maybe less vinegar, which I adjusted in the recipe.  Give grilling your salad a try, it is surprisingly easy and delicious. It is still crunchy, but warm which pairs so well with this shallot vinaigrette. I served mine with pan-fried rockfish and roasted yellow potatoes and it was heavenly. The rockfish will be posted tomorrow:)

Ingredients
Romaine lettuce

Dressing:
2 T. white wine vinegar
1/2 shallot
2 T. olive oil
salt and pepper
1 t. sugar

Directions
Pull lettuce apart into their natural large leaves. Brush the front and back with olive oil. Place lettuce on medium-high heated grill. Cook for 3-5 minutes, turning once or twice. Lettuce should look limp and wilted. Once slightly cooled, coarsely, chop the lettuce and place on serving plate.

To make dressing, place all the ingredients into a food processor or blender. Puree. Serve at room temperature over the wilted grilled salad.

One comment

Leave a Reply

