Coconut and Grape Rice Salad


Adapted from Bobby Flay’s Coconut-Cashew Basmati Rice recipe on foodnetwork.com: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/bobby-flay/coconut-cashew-basmati-rice-salad-recipe/index.html This last bit is going in Jeff’s lunch today. Lucky boy.

The coconut milk in the rice makes these rice creamy, thick, and sticky. The flavor is mild but delicious. What I’m about to say is craziness in my book, but TRUE: With the coconut milk, the rice doesn’t need any butter or salt! I’m serious. There is enough delicious flavor! The coconut milk is high in fat, but its good fat and much better for you than butter and salt. Much better for my baby too! What a great thing to give your baby: rice and coconut milk. This could totally be eaten plain, but I followed through with my original plan and continued to make rice salad, adding onions, scallions, and grapes. I served it cold. Another GREAT summer grill out side.

BTW…I think I will totally eat the rice and coconut milk for breakfast…it would be so good for breakfast. Breaking free of american breakfast foods here:)

Ingredients
2 cups white jasmine rice
3 cups water
1 cup coconut milk (try light coconut milk too)
1/2 yellow onion, chopped
1 T. grated ginger
4 stalks green onions, chopped
3/4 c. red grapes, sliced in half

Directions
In a large sauce pan, heat yellow onions in a dash of salt and 1 T. olive oil. Cook for 5 minutes or until tender. Add ginger and rice. Cook another 2 minutes. Meanwhile, in a small saucepan, simmer milk and water. Add hot milk mixture to the rice mixture. Bring to a boil. Cover and reduce heat to medium-low. Cook for 15-20 minutes. Remove from heat and let it stand covered for 5 minutes. Place rice in a large bowl. Add remaining ingredients. refrigerate and serve cold.

One comment

  1. When I was living in Japan, I noticed that people eat fish and rice for breakfast…it kinda grows on you after a while! I’ve been doing coconut milk in rice for a while, it’s delish and really adaptable…i.e. adding lime and cilantro, lemongrass, and it makes a great “bed” for certain seafoods… this is making me hungry 🙂

Leave a Reply

