Baked Tilapia


Adapted from Bobby’s Baked Tilapia Recipe on Foodnetwork.com (Bobby Dean).

I know people love Tilapia, but I’ve never been convinced enough to make it. It doesn’t look good at the store. It appears small and flat, like it isn’t going to fill me up and like its all going to crumble apart. I gave in last night and made tilapia and baked potatoes. The tilapia was cheap, beyond easy to make, and chewy, tender, and juicy. I loved it and will definitely make it again. I bought a pound of tilapia at Whole Foods and Jeff and I devoured it, but still had a filet leftover. I’m looking forward to eating it for lunch today! Oh, and I bought a new cast iron pan…SO CHEAP and its AWESOME!!! Buy one! Anyway, I made this on the cast iron:)

Ingredients
1 lb. tilapia
1/4 lemon, juiced
1-2 t. butter
kosher salt and fresh cracked pepper

Directions
Spray a cast iron skillet with olive oil spray. Lay the tilapia down on the pan. Squeeze lemon over top. Sprinkle salt over top, along with fresh cracked pepper.  Top with little bits of butter. Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. Bobby’s recipe recommends 8-14 minutes. I did mine for 10 and it was cooked perfectly!

3 comments

    1. I ordered it from amazon. It was like $20.00. I got a pre-seasoned skillet because I hear seasoning your own pan is an ordeal and I’m not quite ready for that. I’ve had it like a week now and I love it!

  1. Tilapia is amazing in fish tacos too! We all love tilapia in this house, we rotate it through every two weeks or so.

Leave a Reply

