Best Cheese Dip (Chili Con Queso)


My favorite food is Chili Con Queso. The best is from Tortilla Factory, in Herndon, VA. But…don’t attempt going there. I was just informed that after like 30 years, they are shutting down:( Saddest thing ever. The best cheese dip in a can, which I enjoyed until my stomach rejected such processed glob, was Fritos Jalapeno Cheese Dip.  While I enjoyed these treats in the past, they are a thing of the p ast. I make my own dip now. It resembles Tortilla Factory’s Chili Con Queso, it’s a little spicy hot, and perfectly cheesy. I love love love it! BTW…this has taken me quite a few years to perfect, but I think this is it!

Ingredients
1/2 red bell pepper, chopped small
1/2 yellow onion, chopped small
2 small jalapeno, chopped small
1 T. olive oil
1 1/2 T. butter
1 1/2 T. flour (I used whole wheat and it didn’t alter the taste, but anything will work)
1/2 cup whole milk (half and half would work too)
1 cup Monterey jack cheese (Muenster works well too)
1 cup sharp cheddar cheese
salt and pepper
1/2 t. cumin

Directions
In a medium-size pot, cook pepper, onion and jalapeno  in olive oil on medium heat for 8 minutes or until tender. Add butter. Once butter is just melted, add flour and stir until it is paste-like. Slowly add the milk, stirring continuously. Turn heat up to medium high and continue to stir until the mixture thickens. Once it is thick, reduce heat to low. Add cheeses, cumin and salt and pepper. Stir until cheese it melted. Add a little milk if the dip is too thick for you.

5 comments

  1. I’m still in Tortilla Factory withdrawl… Their queso was my absolute favorite. I’m anxious to try your recipe and hoping it will cure my craving. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

