Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins


Adapted from Whole Wheat Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins from the blogger, thewillingcook.com:
http://willingcook.com/recipe-whole-wheat-banana-chocolate-chip-muffins/

My friend, Amber, told me about this amazing Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins she had earlier this week. I was practically drooling and very happy to have an idea. I came home and made them right away. Jeff, Mae and I ate all the muffins in 3 days. They were there best banana chocolate chip muffins. Jeff had a Banana Coconut cupcake from Georgetown Cupcakes and said that my muffins were way better and they are healthy, made with lots of bananas, less butter than typically used, and whole wheat flour. Enjoy:)

Ingredients
1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
Not quite 3/4 cup brown sugar
3 1/2 RIPE bananas
2 eggs
1 t. vanilla
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
2 t. baking powder
a pinch of kosher salt, about 1/4 t.
1/2 t. cinnamon
2/3 cup chocolate chips, semi-sweet

Directions
Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar. In a separate small bowl, use a fork to break down bananas until chunky smooth (make sense?). Add bananas to butter mixture and stir together with a spoon. Add eggs and vanilla and stir together. Meanwhile, in a separate bowl, combine the dry ingredients. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and stir to combine. Add chocolate chips. Portion batter into cupcake holders in a muffin tin. Fill about 3/4 full. I thought this batter was also great for mini muffins, so I did that too! Bake for 18-20 minutes. Check for doneness; knife should come out clean.

2 comments

  1. Glad to hear this recipe worked out so well for you! Thanks for linking back. I think I’ll try your version with more bananas the next time I make it. Have a great weekend! (Oh, I love your chickadees header…very cute!)

    Michelle at The Willing Cook

Leave a Reply

