Birthday Carrot Cake


Adapted from Robert Clinton from Clifton’s Carrot Cake Recipe on foodnetwork.com

A few things I changed out of neccessity (ie. what I had in my pantry)
– I used 1/2 cup granulated sugar and 1 1/4 c. brown sugar ( I had run out of white sugar if you can imagine!)
-I used cream cheese frosting with coconut, left over from my red velvet cookie sandwiches from 2 weeks ago:)
-I eliminated the walnuts because like many American parents, I am terrified to give my daughter nuts.

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/rachael-rays-tasty-travels/carrot-cake-recipe-recipe/index.html

Yes… Mae got two birthday cakes. The chocolate dog was for her party and the carrot cake was for her real birthday:) I had to educate her in homemade sweets:) I think she liked the carrot cake better. It was perfectly sweet and moist and packed with 3 cups carrots. That has to be good for her, right?!


I gave Mae a slice and she palmed the whole thing and ate it completely.  I participate in more american traditions than I realize. I think this is one of them: at a child’s first birthday, they are encouraged to get messy and devour the whole thing with their hands. After one year, it is totally unacceptable.  In the eyes of the tradition, Mae was completely successful. In the eyes of the baker, Mae was completely successful. What a great kid!

Leave a Reply

