Mae’s Birthday DOG Cake


The cake and frosting are Ina Garten’s recipe for Beatty’s Chocolate Cake and Buttercream Frosting on foodnetwork.com:
http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/beattys-chocolate-cake-recipe/index.html

I tripled the chocolate cake recipe and doubled the frosting. I used white can frosting for the cupcakes. The doggie bowl is filled with cocoa puffs.

My construction included a loaf pan for the body, a round pan to cut out the ears and tail and muzzle, cupcakes for the paws, and 2 small round pyrex bowls, one for the dog food bowl and one for the head. I assembled and frosted the dog quickly. I figured the more I thought about it, the harder and more frustrating it would be. My goal was for it to look like a dog and I think it does=success:)

Leave a Reply

