Homemade Egg Lasagna Noodles


Adapted from Mario Batali’s Fresh Pasta

I made these noodles for Short Rib Lasagna (to be posted tomorrow). These were made over the holidays for our BIG family dinner that my mom and I hosted and cooked. It turned our delicious…Jeff and I totally agreed that the lasagna wouldn’t have been nearly as good with store-bought noodles. Therefore, lesson learned again….Its worth it to make your own noodles. And…its really not that hard.

P.S. Remember to boil your noodles before assembling a lasagna. Last year, I made homemade cannellini, forgot to boil the noodles, and resulted in a pregnant teary melted cheese looking disaster.

P.S.S. In the words of Nanna, if it was that bad then you’ll never do it again. TRUE! I remembered to cook the noodles this year and its been documented.

P.S.S.S. EVERYONE has cooking disasters! Don’t be too hard of yourself when its your turn:)

Ingredients
3-4 cups all-purpose flour
4 eggs
kosher salt
1 1/2 T. olive oil

Directions
Place 3  cups flour and salt into a food processor. Add one egg at a time, pulsing the mixture as you go. Pulse until dough ball forms. If  the dough is too wet, slowly add more flour. On a floured surface crank pasta into a pasta maker to size 5. Lay sheets of pasta out. Boil and use! I let my pasta sit out over night. It was hard the next day, like store-bought pasta. It took longer to cook in the boiling water, but it turned out perfect!

One comment

  1. Sounds like life is just amazing and you had a wonderful holiday with the family! Well done. I’m impressed. Give Mae a kiss for me. She’s so big!!! 🙂 Hopefully we can see each other soon. Maybe I’ll have a girls night over here soon? Hmm?

Leave a Reply

