Barley and Edamame Salad


Yes…I realize that this picture is totally over exposed. While I like to think I can cook, I certainly can’t take pictures. I have very little patience for it, but I’m learning:)

I saw something like this salad peeking at the salad bar at Giant for ideas. This is my attempt to recreate what I could see. I turned out great. Jeff, Mae and I ate it for lunch all week! It was packed with goodness and it suck to the ribs real well:)

Ingredients
1 cup barley, cook as directed on the bag. FYI: It takes like 50 minutes to cook.
1/2 bag of frozen edamame
2 ears of corn, kernels corn off the cob
1 tomato, chopped
1/2 small yellow onion, chopped
salt and pepper
1 1/2 T. olive oil
splash of red wine vinegar (white balsamic will do, too!)

Directions
In a perfect world, you would grill the corn and onions. But, if its too cold like the day I made this, then I would just saute it all in 1 T. olive oil. So…saute, the onions, corn, and tomato for about 6 minutes. Add edamame. Cook for 3 minutes. Add barley, 1/2 T. olive oil, salt and pepper, and a splash of vinegar. Stir to combine. Refrigerate and serve cold.

Leave a Reply

