Dark Chocolate Cookies (Gluten and Dairy Free)


Adapted from Bon Appetite’s Desserts Cookbook, which I got from my local library:) What a great place to get cookbooks and new meal ideas!

I can usually resist eating 4 cookies in one night, but not with these. They are gluten, dairy, and fat-free (fat being butter or oil). They are just sugar and egg whites essentially. They are crunchy on the outside and creamy soft on the inside. I liken them to the store-bought mini brownies that everyone brings to a tailgate.

I decided to make these when I discovered that my dessert dark chocolate bar for the week was too dark and bitter. I made the choice to change them into cookies and I’m glad for it. On a side note though, I recently gave dark chocolate a shot after many years of rejection and was pleasantly surprised that it was good and that just a little bit satisfied my nightly dessert craving. I think it’s all about getting the right dark chocolate bar.

Ingredients
5 oz. dark chocolate (I used a super dark chocolate bar from Trader Joes, broken into pieces)
4 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips
2 1/2 cups powdered sugar
3 egg whites
1/2 cup cocoa
2 T. corn starch

Yields: 24 small cookies

Directions
Preheat oven to 400 degrees and line cookie sheet with parchment paper.  In a large bowl, beat egg whites until they form soft peaks, or almost:) Meanwhile, heat dark chocolate and semi-sweet chocolate in the microwave or in a double boiler over the stove. Heat until just melted and combine. Stir occasionally. Add 1 cup powdered sugar to egg whites and beat for 3 minutes or until it looks slightly like marshmallow creme. In a small bowl, combine 1 cup powdered sugar, cocoa, and corn starch. Add mixture to large bowl and blend on low for 1 minute. Add melted chocolate and blend on low again for 1 minute. If dough is firm enough, roll into a ball and drop into a plate of powdered sugar. If it isn’t firm enough to make a ball, just use a spoon to drop the dough onto the pan. Then…sprinkle with powdered sugar. Bake cookies for 10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

