Butternut Squash Soup with French Toast Sticks


My recipe:)

I’ve been working on my butternut squash soup for a few years and I think I hit the jackpot. This soup is the perfect balance of sweetness, creamyness, and health. I added the french toast sticks for some texture they went perfectly with the dish. The only thing missing was something cold and fresh. I think I would serve this with apple slices also.

This recipe tastes better each day its in the fridge. We love having it for lunches:)

Ingredients
1 butternut squash, peeled and cubed
1 sweet potato, peeled and cubed
2 large carrots, peeled and cubed
1 tart apple, peeled and cubed (I used McIntosh)
1/2 cup yellow onion, chopped
3 cups chicken broth
1 t. sugar
1 t. cinnamon
1 T. curry
salt and pepper
1/2 cup soy cream

Maple Syrup (for drizzling), I used Grade A Vermont syrup from Will and Emily’s wedding…thanks, guys:)

Directions
Heat all of the vegetables in 1 T. olive oil and cook for about 5 minutes. Add sugar, cinnamon, curry and salt and pepper. Stir. Add broth. Bring to a boil then cover and turn the heat down to simmer. Simmer for 30 minutes or until all the vegetables are tender. Transfer soup to a food processor or blend and puree in 2-3 batches. Return to pot and heat. Add soy. Serve warm with a drizzle of maple syrup.

French Toast Sticks:
I took hard, almost stale baguette and cute it into sticks. Then I battered it in 2 eggs, 1/2 soy vanilla milk, 1 t. cinnamon, and a pinch of ground cloves. Then I covered the stick in ground up cereal (Honey Bunches of Oats with Almonds)….this made it really good. Then, I cooked the sticks on the stove top for about 10 minutes, 5 minutes each side with PAM and 1 T. butter. I served them at room temperature with the soup. They seriously went perfectly!

3 comments

    1. Dairy is okay for non-vegetarians:) Vegetarian, to me, means no chunks of meat. I only use soy in everything for my sensitive tummy:)
      I love meat and am definitely not a vegetarian. I am really proud of myself and have to declarie it to the world when I don’t put meat in a dish. I’m learning:)

Leave a Reply

